Break your routine – be strange

We love anything that makes us look at the world slightly differently and this week at Superhero HQ we came across Mike Wagner’s TEDx talk on ‘The positive power of being strange’ which made us laugh and also got us thinking too (always a winning combination). If you’ve not seen it before, we would definitely recommend that you take a look!

We are absolutely of the opinion that being strange is a superhero quality – who could deny that walking about dressed in a skin-tight superhero costume will get you some curious glances! But, according to Mike, being strange (in manageable chunks) is a really good thing as we are programmed to ignore the conventional and are more likely to respond to the different/crazy stuff that goes on around us. So……not only does being ‘strange’ give you licence to have lots of fun, but it is more likely that others will join in the fun too!

Today, I saw this in action at Superhero HQ and thought that it would be fun to find out more about the ‘strange’ stuff that gets you noticing and responding likewise.

OK – So….me first. Not all of our Superheroes are based in HQ so often our chosen form of communication is on the ‘big red phone’. I was happily collaborating with ‘The Wild Phantom’ (WP) on one of our next missions and we’d taken a quick break to stretch our legs and gather our thoughts.

Picking up the phone a few minutes later I dialled back I got no response, but I did get a text saying ‘I’m making coffee.’ I called a few moments later and this time I got a text ‘I’m at the cinema’. Uhh. Strange.

OK, even Superheroes need a bit of caffeine sometimes, but ‘I’m at the Cinema’ that was unexpected and to be honest totally bizarre! It didn’t take me long to realise that WP was actually just testing out the automatic responses from her phone, but it did make me laugh out loud and send her a hilarious ( – ok…slightly amusing) text back.

Yes, I admit it, not a huge amount of strange, but just enough to get me smiling, inspire my creativity, and get me out of my routine and thinking a bit differently! Not bad for a superhero power.

Here at Superhero HQ we’d love to hear how you are putting your superhero power of ‘being strange’ to good use and what benefits you have found.

P.S. If you’d like to spot us looking slightly strange (or just normal in a superhero type stylee) come and visit us on stand D190 at the World of Learning where we will be donning masks and capes and inviting people to unleash the superheroes in their business.

Tagged: ,

3 thoughts on “Break your routine – be strange

  1. enigmedia marketing September 17, 2012 at 2:54 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on enigmedia marketing.

  2. Mike Wagner September 22, 2012 at 2:59 am Reply

    Thanks for enlarging and making all the better my conversation suggested by my TEDx Des Moines Talk.

    Keep creating…and keep it strange,
    Mike

    • Bev Holden September 25, 2012 at 10:54 am Reply

      Thanks Mike; we’re glad to have found you!

Leave a Reply

